TEDxManchester 2012: Voice Recognition FTW!

12 Sep

After the extensive TEDxSalford report, and the TEDxManchester Best-of, it’s about time I posted the YouTube video of my TEDxManchester talk!

TEDxManchester took place on Monday 13th February this year at one of the iconic Manchester locations – and my “local” – the Cornerhouse. Among the luminary speakers were people I have always been admiring, such as the radio Goddess Mary Anne Hobbs, and people I have become very close friends with over the years – which has led me to an equal amount of admiration, such as Ian Forrester (@cubicgarden to most of us). You can check out their respective talks, as well as some awesome others, in my TEDxManchester report below.

My TEDxManchester talk

I spoke about the weird and wonderful world of Voice Recognition (“Voice Recognition FTW!”): from the inaccurate – and far too often funny – simple voice-to-text apps and dictation systems on your smartphones, to the most frustrating automated Call Centres, to the next generation, sophisticated SIRI and everything in-between. I explained why things go wrong and when things can go wonderfully right. The answer is “CONTEXT”; the more you have of it , the more accurate and relevant the interpretation of user intention will be, and the more relevant and impressive the system reaction / reply will be.

Here is finally my TEDxManchester video on YouTube.

And below are my TEDxManchester slides.

2 Responses to “TEDxManchester 2012: Voice Recognition FTW!”

  1. Πέτρος Γαβαλάκης October 14, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    In case you make a similar speech in Greek, have this this video/article in mind, too http://pgaval.wordpress.com/?s=%CE%BC%CF%80%CE%AC%CF%81%CE%BC%CE%B1%CE%BD

    • Dr. Maria Aretoulaki October 14, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

      Excellent post! Thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

